Before creating an account on a social media platform like TikTok, you should be ready to have people intrude on your privacy. Since social media is about connecting, anybody can find you on it.
When you create an account on TikTok, your profile is automatically set as public. This means that anyone on TikTok can find you and also see information about you on your profile. All TikTok accounts are set as public by default.
If you are concerned about your privacy and want to control who sees your profile or your content, you might want to consider setting your account to private. Well, this article will show you how to go about it.
Why a private account on TikTok?
The simple ideology behind making public accounts private is to control who has access to these profiles. However, there’s really more to that, and you are here to find out. Let’s see other reasons to make your account private.
Owning a public account means your profile will be visible to anyone on and off TikTok. Meanwhile, private accounts can only be visible to followers. That is, if you don’t follow a private account, you can’t see its profile or content.
Depending on your Privacy settings, others may be able to Duet, Stitch, and even download your videos on TikTok. If you own a private account, users who do not follow you will be unable to do any of these with your content.
Aside from privacy concerns, people make their accounts private due to security reasons. Public accounts are more likely to be hacked than private accounts. This is one reason why many celebrities have their accounts in private mode.
How to make my TikTok account private
It is impossible to create a private TikTok account right from scratch. All TikTok accounts are automatically created as public until they are changed to private.
To set your TikTok account as private:
- Open the TikTok app on your mobile device.
- Sign in to your account.
- Proceed to your profile.
- Tap the menu icon in the top right corner of your profile.
- Select Settings and Privacy.
- Navigate to Privacy.
- Turn Private Account on.
And that’s it! Your account will be set as private immediately.
What next after making my account private?
You might wonder what happens after you make your TikTok account private. The first thing you should know is that when you make your account private, you will still have all your followers intact.
That is, everyone who was following you as a public account will still be on your followers as a private account. However, new users who want to see your profile and posts will have to send a follow request.
When TikTok users send follow requests to your private account, you have the liberty to accept or decline. If you accept, they become your followers and have access to your content, but declined requests do not.
Also, there is no limit to how many times a particular account can send follow requests to your account. It doesn’t matter if you keep declining all their follow requests; it wouldn’t stop until you block or report them.
Other ways to increase my account privacy
Sometimes, changing your public account to private may not be enough. There are other ways to control and filter who sees and interacts with your content on TikTok. Let’s find out what these paths are.
Whether your account is private or public, you can always limit the audience for your videos in your Privacy Settings. Simply visit your settings and choose who you want to interact with your content.
Using this, you can choose who will be able to find your account on TikTok, who can like or comment on your videos, who can send you direct messages, and if your account is suggested to others on TikTok.
TikTok has privacy options for all your posts on the platform. It includes Everyone, Followers, and Only You. For example, setting Everyone on your posts means all TikTok users can see it.
If you set your comments to Followers, it means that only your followers will be allowed to comment on your posts. Users who do not follow you may be able to see your posts but will be unable to comment on them.
If you set your posts to Only You, it means no one else will see your TikTok posts. No matter how many posts you make daily, you will be the only one seeing and interacting with them.
If you have a private account, only people you approve can follow you, view your videos, LIVE videos, bio, and likes, as well as your following and followers lists. With a private account, other people won’t be able to Duet, Stitch, or download your videos.
Follow the procedure above to set your TikTok account to private. If you change your mind and want others to interact with your content, you can set it back as private by following the same procedure.
Meanwhile, if you need to download TikTok videos from other creators, especially if you don’t want to worry about the watermark, there is a seamless way to do so. Toksaver.net allows you to download any TikTok content of your choice at no cost.