Are you thinking of how to message someone on TikTok? This is the article for you.
One of the most important features of social media platforms is direct messaging. Every platform should have an option that allows users to send messages to other users without involving any third party.
TikTok has a messaging option for everyone; one may find this difficult to locate, especially when they are new to the app. The platform is popular for posting short videos, so not all users use the messing option.
If you are new to TikTok and finding it difficult to message your friends on the platform, you are in the right place.
This article will show you can send messages easily to anyone around the world on TikTok.
What is direct messaging on TikTok?
Direct messaging on TikTok is a feature that helps you connect with your friends and community privately. It is known as Direct Messaging (DM) because it involves secure communication between two users.
Messaging allows users to send and receive messages, photos, and videos from one another on TikTok. Direct messaging comes with so many benefits, including:
- You can share TikTok videos with friends.
- You can send and receive messages with mutual followed friends, suggested friends and contacts, and people you may know.
- Also, you can modify privacy settings to choose who can send direct messages to you.
- You can adjust notification settings too.
- You can determine how active your friends are and know when they last were active on TikTok.
If someone reads a direct message you have sent to them, you will be able to know from the app. Also, you can report accounts and contents that you find troubling or violates TikTok’s Community Guidelines.
How to send messages on TikTok
To send a direct message in a chat with someone on TikTok:
- Open the TikTok app and sign into your account.
- Tap the Inbox option at the bottom of the screen.
- If you have recent messages and want to chat with someone on the list, tap a name from the Messages list to open the chat.
- If you don’t have recent messages, tap the Direct message button at the top of the screen. Then, find and select their name to send a direct message.
- Open the chat box and type a message. If you wish, you can also send emojis, stickers, and GIFs in the chat.
- Hit the Send button when you are done.
Another way to do this is to go straight to the person’s profile and tap Message to send a direct message. However, this is only possible if you follow someone and they also follow you back. You won’t find the messaging option if you are not a mutual friend.
You should also remember that you will be unable to send a direct message to someone who follows you but has their direct message privacy setting set to No one. This means that nobody is allowed to send them direct messages, not even mutual followers.
How to send content through Direct Messaging
You can share any content across TikTok, such as videos, sounds, hashtags, and effects to users through a direct message. This is particularly helpful when the content you want to share is not saved on your device.
To send content through a direct message:
- Open the TikTok app.
- Navigate to the video or content you wish to share. If you cannot find the content on time, use the search option to look around.
- When you find the content, tap the Share button. If you are sharing a video, you can press and hold on to the video.
- From the options on your screen, tap the profile photo of the user you wish to share the content with. If you wish, you can select as many users as possible.
- When you are done, you may write an optional message, then hit the Send button.
You should note that private videos can not be shared on TikTok. Since you need to follow a private account before viewing its content, any user that isn’t following it won’t be able to find its content.
Sometimes, a video may be set as public and then changed to private after you share it with someone else. As soon as the creator of the video changes this, the video will be unavailable, and you won’t be able to watch it.
How to delete messages on TikTok
You can delete selected messages or your whole chat with a user on TikTok.
To delete a chat:
- Open the TikTok app and tap Inbox at the bottom of the screen.
- On the Messages screen, swipe left on a chat and tap Delete (iOS devices) or press and hold on to a chat and tap Delete (Android devices).
To delete a single message:
- Open the TikTok app and navigate to Inbox.
- Find and open the chat in your Inbox.
- Press and hold on to the message and tap Delete.
You should remember that deleting a chat or message on TikTok does not delete it for the user you sent them to. The direct message will only be deleted on your end, but the recipient will still have access to them from their end.
In a nutshell
Anyone on TikTok can send direct messages to other users. However, it is limited to friends who you follow and follow you back. Meanwhile, you can control who can send you direct messages in your Privacy Settings.
Note that if you change your direct message setting to No one, nobody will be able to send you direct messages any longer. Although you can still access old messages, you won’t receive new ones.
Meanwhile, if you need to download TikTok videos from other creators, especially if you don’t want to worry about the watermark, there is a seamless way to do so. Toksaver.net allows you to download any TikTok content of your choice at no cost.